Property Australia

Check out our awards finalists

Karen Jamal Karen Jamal May 4, 2021

The world’s first modular A-Grade office building fully transportable by sea and affordable net zero energy homes are among the 2021 Property Council of Australia /Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards finalists. 


  Three key takeaways 

  • 120 finalists across 19 categories of the 2021 Property Council of Australia /Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards have been announced 
  • Property Council chief executive Ken Morrison says the exceptional standard of entries this year reflects the impressive adaptation and transformation occurring across the industry 
  • full list of finalists is available online. 


The awards program, sponsored by RLB since its inception in 1982, celebrates the people, projects and pioneering innovation behind the country’s biggest industry. 

Ken Morrison comments this year’s finalists for their “outstanding contribution to their communities, stakeholders and the broader body of knowledge that advances our industry”. 

“From Canberra’s first zero-emission office building to relocatable commercial solar technology and the world’s first fully sea-transportable, constructed modular A-Grade office building, the extent of innovation in our sector is impressive,” Morrison says. 

Morrison says transformation is also underway across the residential and retail sectors, and points to “the delivery of net zero energy affordable homes” as well as “innovative approaches “ that integrate design, technology, inclusivity and sustainability into projects. 

“If the past year has taught us anything, it’s that the property sector is as innovative as it is resilient and when we continue to champion diversity, listen to our communities, and invest in our people, the results speak for themselves.” 

All development finalists are in the running for the industry’s most coveted prize – the RLB Australian Development of the Year award. Last year, Investa took home the top gong for Barrack Place in Sydney. 

PCA award win development of the year - acceptance

Developments are also vying for the RLB State Development of the Year award in their state or territory. 

Innovation is recognised in two categories: the Procore Award for Development Innovation and the PEXA Award for Project InnovationEleven rising stars have also been shortlisted for the NS Group Award for Future Leader of the Year. 

Winners will be announced at a gala dinner at the ICC Sydney on Friday 13 August 2021. Book your ticket today.