Property Australia

David Harrison new Property Council president

Karen Jamal Karen Jamal March 30, 2021

Charter Hall’s managing director and group CEO has been elected national president of the Property Council, taking the reins from JLL’s CEO Stephen Conry AM.


  Three key takeaways

  • Harrison has been at the helm of Charter Hall since 2004, and was most recently a Property Council national vice president
  • The GPT Group’s CEO Bob Johnston and Brookfield’s managing partner for real estate, Sophie Fallman, have been elected national vice presidents
  • The 20-member board of national and local leaders features a 50:50 gender balance for the first time in its history.


Harrison says he is honoured to take on the role from Conry, who completes his two-year term, at a critical time for Australia’s biggest industry.

“It has been a tough year for the property sector, but we should be proud of the major role the industry has played in Australia’s response to the COVID pandemic,” Harrison says.

“Property has done much of the heavy lifting to pull our economy out of recession and stands ready to achieve even better results over the long term with a continuation of positive policy settings.

“As stimulus and support measures are wound down the Property Council will be leading the public debate on reactivating CBDs, resuming overseas migration and reforms to our tax and planning systems.

“With property employing 1.48 million Australians, and contributing $234.7 billion to our economy, the health of our industry needs to be front of mind for all levels of government.”


The Property Council’s national board of directors

David Harrison

Managing Director and Group CEO, Charter Hall


Stephen Conry AM

Chief Executive Officer, Australia and New Zealand JLL

Immediate Past President

Sophie Fallman

Managing Partner, Real Estate, Brookfield

Vice President

Bob Johnston

Chief Executive Officer, The GPT Group

Vice President

Peter Allen

Chief Executive Officer, Scentre Group


Virginia Briggs

Acting Chief Executive Officer, Minter Ellison


Jonathan Callaghan

Chief Executive Officer, Investa


Deborah Coakley

Executive General Manager, Funds Management, Dexus


Adrian Esplin

Chief Executive Officer, Sarah Constructions


Kim Gregory

Fund Manager, Mandates, Investa


Andrew Hay

Director, Auxilium Property


M-L MacDonald

Chief Executive Officer, Masonic Care


Kylie O’Connor

Head of Real Estate, AMP Capital


Stuart Penklis

Head of Residential, Mirvac


Kylie Rampa

Chief Executive Officer Property, Australia, Lendlease


Arabella Rohde

Senior Development Manager, Lendlease


Sam Tarascio

Managing Director, Salta Properties


Mark Steinert

Managing Director and CEO, Stockland


Josephine Sukkar AM

Principal, Buildcorp


Paige Walker

General Manager, Residential Development WA, Mirvac